this girl’s weblog

just me, my thoughts, and experiences.

a symphony post deserved

I had to talk about the amazing article in today’s SF Chronicle about the tremendous performance by the Simón Bolívar Youth Orchestra of Venezuela under the direction of Gustavo Dudamel.

dudameldg200.jpg

And, here’s why I’m interested. First, I love classical music and seeing passionate young musicians is always inspiring. Secondly, Gustavo’s next step is taking the baton from famed LA Philharmonic conductor Esa Pekka Salonen in a few years. This is just an example of how their gamble may have already paid off. Any of my old friends from LA Phil care to get me in on his first conducting appearance in LA???? <just kidding, i’ll pay!!>

Here’s an excerpt:

“If you were to judge the Simón Bolívar Youth Orchestra of Venezuela solely from the exhilarating video clip that’s been making the rounds on the Internet – the one of the young players and their music director, Gustavo Dudamel, kicking the stuffing out of Leonard Bernstein’s “Mambo” at London’s Royal Albert Hall in August – you might easily conclude that this is one of the most dynamic and daring ensembles around.

And if you caught their remarkable concert in Davies Symphony Hall on Sunday night, you’d know you were right.”

Read the rest of the article here.

dd_bolivar029ls.jpg

3 Comments»

  cooper wrote @

I enjoyed that thanks. I caught it earlier and thought I had commented.

  Michael Wagner wrote @

Wow!

What contagious excellence on display.

Keep creating,
Mike

  Jay wrote @

my gf loves all types of music and she took me to a classical concert and i actually enjoyed it like this!

Jay
DatMoney.com
DatCurious.com


Leave a Reply

